Update…

I’m still alive and kicking, chipper as ever, despite some setbacks. During the past month, I have been busy reevaluating and reorganizing my priorities for the time being.

Reasons always explain the purpose of actions/decisions and I’m not about to leave you hanging. The abrupt end of an almost decade long relationship left me questioning my life. I started losing sleep, my appetite decreased, and my work performance suffered ever so slightly but enough to be noticed. I guess I had set the bar pretty high because coworkers kept asking if something was wrong if I didn’t get back to them within 2 hours.

As I looked to redefine myself, I struggled to overcome the desire to analyze my emotions and took the advice of my mentor. Instead of herding the squirrels (emotions), I’m simply going to let them wander as part of the healing process. I liken it to sitting in your backyard, looking blankly without a care in the world at a tree trunk. Sooner or later, a squirrel will come into your vision as he goes about his daily business. I’ll just watch him do his thing, knowing he’ll be gone soon enough. I have the very fortunate opportunity to be able to allow myself some grievance time.

Unfortunately, this means putting a temporary hiatus on my pursuit of post grad. However, certain visions remain constant and the goal of attaining my MBA burns stronger than before. I am simply going to move the application process to the following year. This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop studying and preparing. Au contraire. The extra time gives me more time to tweak everything to a higher standard. I owe it to myself to be as mentally confident as possible and give nothing less than 100%.

I leave with this: The only good luck many great men ever had was being born with the ability to overcome bad luck.

~ by goneguru on August 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Update…”

  1. Happy to hear you’re still alive and no longer at a crossroad. I totally agree that you may need time to marinate before embarking on a whirlwind B-school journey. In any case, GMAT has been literally consuming my entire being, hence my being MIA. Good luck and I will be rooting for you.

  2. Happy to see you are still there…

  3. Share Leadership Use staff to communicate and be proactive The best spokespeople for schools tend to be alumni, teachers, and families. ,

Leave a comment