Teaching style vs Learning style

I’m not much of a self learner. I understand material better and faster with a great teacher.

So here’s a lesson I learned: Make sure your learning style compliments the GMAT (or any!) instruction course you take. If you have an instructor whom you can’t understand, think is inadequate, or simply don’t like, STOP! Ask to be switched to another class with an instructor you like.

I was taking a great series (MGMAT) and went through more than half the sessions completely confused. I thought I was an idiot because I just couldn’t understand anything. 

I had a make up MGMAT class with another instructor. We actually made it through almost all of the problems compared to my class skipping through at least 5-6 questions per section. The teacher was able to articulate everything and the size of the class was great because the variation covered every possible of mistake. We even finished on time!

:\ I want to switch instructors and retake the course. I’m going to call MGMAT and check out my options. I don’t know if I’ve learned much from my past instructor. I guess my learning style never complimented my teacher’s teaching style. I can do the material MGMAT presented alone, but I absorb more info with a good teacher than studying alone.

Someone in a class I coach quoted someone as saying “I am successful because I make good decisions. I make good decisions due to experience. I gained experience by making bad decisions.”

~ by goneguru on June 24, 2008.

Leave a comment